Subarus Come Up Big In GRC Season Finale

Image via Subaru Rally Team

After a long and frustrating season of on-track incidents, mechanical failures, and continued car development, the Subaru Puma Rallycross Team and drivers Sverre Isachsen, Dave Mirra, and Bucky Lasek came into the Global Rallycross Championship season finale at the SEMA Show looking for a strong run to finish the season.

Finish strong they did—both Mirra and Lasek advanced to the final directly from their second heat races, scoring season-best finishes of sixth and seventh, respectively. Meanwhile, Isachsen cracked the top 10 in points, only a single point behind former Subaru driver Travis Pastrana.

Image via Subaru Rally Team

Mirra’s event looked to get off to a difficult start after a spectacular fire took him out of his first heat race on Monday night. But safe, conservative driving enabled him to avoid the troubles that Brian Deegan, Pat Moro, and Isachsen faced in the second heat, and he brought the car home in the fourth and final transfer spot. In his third final appearance of the season, he managed to avoid trouble once again to come home in a respectable sixth.

Lasek finished third in his Monday heat race and followed the same strategy as Mirra to transfer into the main event. It was Lasek’s second consecutive appearance in the final, after making the first one of his career at Las Vegas last month. While he didn’t finish in the final, he still managed to outlast European champion Timur Timerzyanov, off-road champion Bryce Menzies, and Ken Block to take seventh place.

Unfortunately, Isachsen was unable to join his Subaru teammates in the final after failing to finish both of his heat races and the last chance qualifier. However, by adding five points to his 35-point total, he managed to total 40 on the season, best among the team and enough to surpass Andy Scott for the final spot in the top 10.

The Subaru team will now focus on further developing its WRX STi model in preparation for the 2013 season. Isachsen will once again spearhead the charge, as the three-time European champion will begin the second year of his three-year contract with the team. Lasek and Mirra are expected to return as well.

– Chris Leone


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: