#NHMSGRC Post-Race Comments: Tanner Foust

Photo credit: Matthew Kalish

Global Rallycross Championship points leader Tanner Foust extended his championship advantage from five to 12 points after finishing fourth in tonight’s round at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. After leading briefly, Foust stalled in front of Travis Pastrana on the crossover bridge, and was eventually passed by Pastrana, Samuel Hubinette, and Brian Deegan. Here are Foust’s exclusive post-race comments:

On contact with David Binks and Samuel Hubinette: “I smelled rubber after that. The steering was a little turned, and so when I got in the air on the jump I could feel the car turning a little bit, so I knew the alignment was off. But it was still gangbusters, still going for it, you know? I was still kicking myself a little bit for stalling the engine on the hairpin and getting in the middle of the traffic anyway, but thankfully Travis was there to give me a bump and a push start and I didn’t lose too many spots.”

On how to win his second GRC title: “I really want to back up last year’s championship win, because this year the competition is so much heavier. So it’s going to take really consistent qualifying. I think the qualifying is epic, very important, and that’s what we have to push for.”

– Chris Leone

Trackbacks

  1. […] Tanner Foust, #34 Rockstar Energy/Etnies Ford Fiesta, Olsbergs MSE Photo credit: Matthew Kalish […]

Leave a Reply

